the magic of winter

Today the sky is dark and wet, but the air is hot and dry. The wind blows branches from the Ash tree shrouding my little house into the wildflower garden destroying the fragile poppies I waited patiently for. The slight trickle of moisture that fell from the heavens a few minutes ago has turned into steady drip of water. A respite for the newly transplanted Calendula adorning a rustic fence that lines my property. There’s even a bit of thunder, and of course, lightening accompanying this summer storm. But as much as I love summer for its abundance of beautiful flowers and fruit, for its long days, warm nights and many recreational opportunities, winter in the mountains is my true love. Always.

Summer is a boisterous cacophony. There’s too many visual and audio inputs for me to process and enjoy. People, plants, animals, cars–all of them moving, interacting, conversing and sometimes, doing battle with each other.

And winter? Winter is the opposite.

To remind myself (and you) that the scorching temperatures and bone dry air are temporary (unless you live in the southwest. Don’t worry, your monsoon is coming) here’s a little insight into why I love winter:

What is magic? It is being an interloper to a winter’s morning when darkness gives way to dawn. It’s when the snow is so fresh, I can blow it away with the slightest puff of air. It’s when there is just enough light to reflect off the individual crystals, it’s as if my path is illuminated by glitter. It’s when the ground beneath my feet is insulated, curiously, by millions of tiny ice particles in a perfectly uniform veneer of white. And it’s when most of the sounds of life are still and slumbering, careless of what’s about to take place. Magic is all of these things, and if I’m lucky it will be paired with only the sound of my breath as it leaves my body and returns again.

Go here: http://randalltt.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/dsc_0155-cropped-and-enhanced-dawn-and-purple-snow.jpg

[In the thirty minutes it took to write this, the sky went from partly cloudy, to a light rain, to a full electrical storm, and now it’s dry and the sun is shining behind me. Summer in the Great Basin!]

3 responses to “the magic of winter

  1. laelyn June 29, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    This is really lovely and makes me feel all peaceful inside even though this storm just came blustering through (and looks like it’s gearing up for round 2).

  2. Brad June 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    This post does what all great nature writing does.

  3. missy. July 2, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I miss winter.

Leave a Reply

