Garden Friday – Leeks

Garden Friday is a regularly scheduled feature on Our Mother’s Keeper.  Growing your own food, no matter the scale, helps both the pocketbook and the environment.  We anticipate that this space can be one that provides inspiration and answers questions regarding the planing, harvesting, and consumption of edible gardens.  Because gardening is very dependent upon your climate, please make sure you identify your general region (Wasatch Front, arid SW, Pacific NW, coastal, etc) when asking questions.

Where did the week go?  How is it Friday already?

We had a couple of hot days here in the PNW this week and I think my peas are finished.  This frees up some space and I think I’ll put my leeks in.

Leeks are a wonderful winter veggie that can overwinter most places – here I don’t have to do anything but you might have to put some dry leaves on them on the Wasatch front.  I have a wonderful leek quiche that I make nearly every Friday in the winter.  So I’ll either need 20 huge leeks or 30-40 smaller ones.

The trick to leeks is to thickly sow them in a seed bed and wait until they are 4-6 inches high.  Then you transplant them, bury them an extra 3-4 inches than they were in the seed bed – this makes for the yummy white part.  I put some in a small place in my seed bed about a month ago, so they are the perfect candidates for replacing my pea spot.

Are you planting or transplanting anything this week?

8 responses to “Garden Friday – Leeks

  1. Dan July 8, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I just planted watermelon. 🙂

  2. Karmen July 8, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I just planted more carrots and beets where I had pulled the radishes and replanted the pole beans that didn’t come up. (Utah)

  3. mfranti July 8, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Oh Karmen! I planted pole beans a week ago and they’re up! The bush beans in less than a week.

    Nicole, I planted leek seeds over a month ago and nuttin came up. Do you think it’s too late to try again?

  4. Nicole I July 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    I don’t think it is too late to try again – they just won’t be as fat come the first frost when their growth slows way down. They do take a while to germinate in my experience… even longer than the package says.

  5. Alliegator July 9, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I’ve been eating a handful of blackcaps (like black raspberries) every morning. Other than that, and a few strawberries that are still trickling in, we’re not eating anything out of the garden right now. But, the green beans are flowering, and everything else is finally growing well.

  6. mfranti July 9, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I just barely put beans in the ground. I’m so behind this year and I scaled back the garden. I’m gonna kick myself later in the season.

  7. bettyjo July 13, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Isn’t it just the oddest year for weather! (We’re in the Pacific Northwest,
    in California just shy of the Oregon border.)

    Greens are still producing here (they should be done by now).
    After but a few days of 100+ temps, we’re down in the 80s again.
    That’s rare for July around here. Tomatoes are covered with flowers
    and a few fruits, but we won’t see edibles for another month.
    Beans are coming up nicely, perhaps 2 feet high on the bean fences,
    but no flowers yet. Winter squash looks healthy, but small.
    I’m doubting now we’ll get many squash before the first
    frost (usually around labor day). I just mounded the spuds for the 2nd
    and last time, but no flowers yet! I’m usually digging creamers by now.
    Oh, and I am heartily sick of eating turnips.

    I just harvested the garlic and onions planted last fall, so now have two
    more raised beds free for somethin’. Trouble is I’ve still got another day
    or two to clear weeds from the big garden before I can get back to the beds.

    This is the 2nd year in a row we’ve had ample winter and spring rains,
    so the hay and pastures are looking great. Indeed, the brood cows are
    getting so fat on the grass, we just purchased another cow/calf pair
    to give ’em a bit more competition. We’re about ready for the
    2nd hay cutting.

    Besides the hay and grass, the other things that are thriving here
    are pig-weed and pond weed. I just finished spreading another 2 cubic
    yards of pond weed around the veggies. It makes great mulch (no terrestrial
    weed seeds in it), but cutting and hauling is a job alright. Still, the ponds
    look great, reflecting all the blue sky and clouds. The kids visiting
    over the Fourth of July spent many happy hours catching bass and sunfish.

    My Good Garden News is about the PawPaws. You probl’y remember that
    old song, we sang as kids – “picking up pawpaws put ’em in your pocket,
    way down yonder in the pawpaw patch.” I’ve been trying to grow some
    for 10 years. The late May frost has usually done them in. This year
    I covered the bushes every evening, unwrapped them every morning all through
    March, April and May. We got flowers! But they were hard to see and preceded
    the apple blossoms that usually bring in the bees. So this year I got my little
    water color brush and poked about in each flower, one after another, hoping to
    get some pollination. I am thrilled to report that we have 11 pawpaw fruits
    on those 10 year old shrubs. We had 12 but perhaps the baby rabbit took one.
    Now each cluster of fruit is carefully wrapped to protect them. I might actually
    get to taste pawpaw this year. I’m pretty excited about that. I doubt the rather
    labor intensive techniques are ready for prime time, but I just want a taste of
    pawpaw. Just once would do.

  8. Nicole I July 13, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    It has been an odd weather year. I had planned on raiding my garden when family visited next week to fee them all; I’m not sure much will be ripe!

    Interesting about the PawPaws. You’ll have to tell us how they taste!

Leave a Reply

