Fruit Preservation

Hi Friends,

In the last few years I’ve canned my summer foods to preserve them and it works well, but I end up with a lot of unused product after a year. Freezing works well, too, but it takes up so much space in our little freezer. This year I’d like to try drying my summer fruits using a food dehydrator.

1.Do any of you have any experience with home food drying?
2. Do you have a recommendation for a brand of food dehydrator?

Thanks!

8 responses to “Fruit Preservation

  1. Cynthia L. September 25, 2011 at 11:35 am

    How can you end up with extra?? By the time I give a jar to every dear friend I want to share with, I end up with not enough for myself and have to use store-bought jam (ew) for a month or two just before the next harvest. The problem gets worse every year because everybody who got a jar from me last year wants one again next year, and there are always a couple new ones added to the list! (new sisters on my visiting teaching route, new neighbors, etc).

    It’s a great way to build very loyal friends though. 🙂

  2. Mary Ellen September 25, 2011 at 11:51 am

    We had a dehydrator in the 70s and used it to make fruit leather. That’s all I’ve got.

  3. Lori Peck September 25, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    I have a food dehydrator that I got from my mother in law. It’s not an expensive one but it has 4 trays to it. I’ve dried onion, herbs and fruit. The onions and herbs get used up the most. I’m a novice at the drying stuff.

  4. ErinAnn September 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I’ve done pear halves and peach and apple slices. They keep well in a ziploc or the like. My mother keeps hers additionally in the freezer because she loves her pear halves so much that she would be distraught if they molded. I just dip everything in lemon juice first, I think it was. That is supposed to keep them from browning much.

  5. Alliegator September 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    I had an american harvest dehydrator for a long time, and it was fine, although difficult to make leather on.

    A couple years ago I got 9-tray excalibur (I bought a refurbed one from their website). I LOVE it. It holds a lot more, and dries things more evenly. I bought some thin plastic-like sheets (also from excalibur) for making leather.

    My favorite things to dry are bananas and nectarines, and any kind of leather. We’ve also done jerky, and apricots, and plums. I’ve dried leftover celery before.

  6. reader Rachel September 25, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I’m not great with our dehydrator. I did dry nectarines fairly successfully last year. I’ve stored them in a container in the freezer and the kids love snacking on them. I really should try to do more with the thing to justify having it in our house.

  7. JamesM September 30, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I recommend the Alton Brown episode on food dehydration. It’s called “Withering Bites” and you watch it on YouTube. I seem to recall he basically rejects food dehydrators in general and provides a much cheaper alternative to getting the job done.

  8. Pingback: Begin Food Preservation with Excalibur Food Dehydrators | Ask "Video News Net"

Leave a Reply

