On 20-year-olds

Warning! Adult content ahead. The sound recording in this post contains some language not suitable for young children.

In one of my classes this morning, a gangly 20-year-old stood on the stage tell us about some charity type work overseas. He spoke at 75 miles per hour and in a thick Australian accent, and I didn’t catch most of what he said. What I was able to comprehend had to do with living with a host family and using a shovel.

I’m just gonna come right out and say that [most/typical American] (<–see the qualifiers? ) 20 year olds are useless, self-important brats that annoy me. Being surrounded by them everyday on a university campus has removed any charitable opinions I may have had. The only thing worse than being around a useless, self-important 20-year-old in their natural habitat (uni), is running in to one in the real world and having to interact with them a professional capacity. Oy!

I think Louis CK does a fine job of explaining what I’m talking about here:

6 responses to “On 20-year-olds

  1. Jessica September 28, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Woah! Might want to post a profanity warning on that one! I had the volume up a bit too high and alarmed the household.

  2. mfranti September 28, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Jessica, you are right! I’m sorry I didn’t think to put a warning up.

  3. Karmen September 29, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    When Louis C.K. talks about the Guatemala trips, take the picture with the shovel so she can hurry and put it up on Facebook, I laughed and laughed — then got very sad as I was reminded of all the university students we send out on service study abroad programs. I know there are exceptions, but anymore I’m not sure which is the exception, which is the “rule,” as his description nailed it for many that I know.

  4. mfranti September 29, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Karmen,

    You work at a university, right? Does that mean you share some of my frustration with 20 y/o’s? 🙂

  5. bettyjo September 29, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Ah yes. The aggrieved insolence of adolescence.

    I didn’t mind so much when fellow students were too young. It was when the teachers also were children that I felt my age. It’s not just academia. I had some minor hand surgery a while back. The Dr., said that he remembered my daughter from high school. No doubt he was just making conversation to make me comfortable. All I could think of was, “you went to high school with my kid? Then you are clearly too young to be wielding a scalpel on me!” But you’re right, kids these days are younger than they used to be. 19 year old granddaughter came up to visit with a friend over 4th of July holiday. They were perfectly willing to work, so long as the work was not dirty, hard or smelly. And, so long as it wasn’t too hot, even if they couldn’t hop out of bed before noon.

    It’s that younger generation. Going to Hell in a hand basket.

  6. annegb October 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    I had two kids when I was twenty. Those poor kids; I was worse than any 20 year old you describe here.

Leave a Reply

