Poetry Monday: Midsummer, Tobago by Derek Walcott

Derek Walcott is a poet from St. Lucia who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992. I know it’s not midsummer right now, but this is the poem that I’m in the mood to post today!

Midsummer, Tobago

Broad sun-stoned beaches.

White heat.
A green river.

A bridge,
scorched yellow palms

from the summer-sleeping house
drowsing through August.

Days I have held,
days I have lost,

days that outgrow, like daughters,
my harbouring arms.

3 responses to “Poetry Monday: Midsummer, Tobago by Derek Walcott

  1. bettyjo October 4, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Missy,

    I so enjoy your poetry selections.

    This one about mid summer appeared on our
    first day of the rainy season. I knew the rain was coming, and
    had spent the previous couple of days loading hundreds of pounds of
    winter squash out of the garden and into the packing shed, and
    picking the last of the ripe tomatoes. In truth, I was rather relieved
    to be done with the tomatoes. We had a good harvest for sure. And yet,
    awaking to the rain and the muddy slog out to the hay barn and chicken house
    with that chill wet wind at my back, I already mourned the end of summer.

    I love the last words of your poem – “Days I have held, days I have lost, days that outgrow, like daughters, my harbouring arms.”

  2. Winterbuzz October 6, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I know it’s no longer Monday and I’m late, but it’s cold today and this was so nice to read.

  3. bettyjo October 13, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Missy, It’s Thursday already. Where’s our poem for the week?

Leave a Reply

