Garden Friday – The first of the starts

This week, I started broccoli and boc choi starts.  I’m not sure what drove the decision: my anxiousness for spring to arrive or because I’ve been emboldened by how well my lettuce is holding up underneath a couple of panes of glass.  Either way, on Sunday afternoon, my preschooler and I sat in our sunny, south facing window and started 2 flats of a mix of broccoli and boc choi plants.  I was so impressed with the precision of his 4-year-old fingers in dropping seeds in one at a time.

The flats have been sitting in my south facing window ever since. Today I noticed them peaking through.  Once late Feburary arrives, I will like transplant them to a south facing bed that I can keep covered in plastic; by that point the frosts will be unlikely but I’ll still need warmth and protection from the sun.

Or at least that is the plan.  When do you plan on getting the spring garden started?

2 responses to “Garden Friday – The first of the starts

  1. Karmen January 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    We ordered heirloom seeds again and they are not here yet. I’ll get the tomatoes and peppers started as soon as they come. I’m going to try a vertical strawberry garden in a pallet this year, have seen a couple on websites around and think it might work better for my strawberries than letting them just spread around the front yard! My garlic is in and if temperatures stay as warm as it has been in Utah since Christmas it will be up any day. My Greek oregano never froze and is starting to wake up again. Crazy winter.

  2. bettyjo January 26, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I’ll be starting the broccoli, celery root, onions late Feb, early March, peppers, cukes, tomatoes eggplants end of March. I have a tiny (8’x10′) greenhouse, so once I plant the starts, it’s a race to get stuff up and out to make room for the next batch. The earliest I can get the cool crops into the ground in early April, the earliest tomatoes and peppers go outside is last in April, even then under Ag Fab frost protection. Lettuce, beets, Chinese greens etc go straight into the (covered) raised beds in early April. Oh, I aim for St Patty’s day to put in the spuds, tho that is actually a bit early for us.

    I used to start stuff sooner, but then, since we often get our last frost around Memorial day (!), I was then stuck taking flowering tomato plants out of the greenhouse every morning, and putting them back in every night, which was a big hassle. Also, with a greenhouse, it’s a short thing between growing healthy starts or ones with white flies or aphids, so I try to get stuff outside as fast as possible.

    We’ve had a bitter cold winter so far, with night temps down to 12 degrees. Our FIRST big wet storm hit last week, so with 8 inches of snow on the ground, it’s a ways away from spring. I like it that way. I used to try to grow stuff all year long, then I realized that I need a break. November, December are the time for sloth, gluttony, and healing up from the summer season. I like that the seasons dictate activities. Once the last of the apples are processed (late October), I’m ready for a rest, and then there’s all the accounting to catch up on for the year. My Certified Organic Inspection is in early March, so now I’m pulling together all the receipts and documents the inspector will want to check, and tax prep will require.

    Onions, garlic, potatoes and winter squash stores are still holding up pretty well, some of the squash is starting to go, so the calves are really happy about that, since they love those sweet treats.

Leave a Reply

