Garden Friday – A Child’s Flower Garden

Spring really is here!  And it is one wet week in the PNW.

I know I usually make this space about veggies, but I have to share something special we did in our family this week.  It is spring break here and I’ve been trying to make sure I do something special with my eldest (he is a verbal 4.5 years old) each day as we transition into a family of 4.  He came home the other day from a bike-ride with his father chattering non-stop about the flowers.  Spring around here means that many houses are lined with beautiful bulbs and other perennials right now.  Apparently, while riding (in the street – because we arethat biking family), a conversation went something like this:

Child: Look at those <insert various colors> flowers in that yard!

Father: yes, they are beautiful

Child: I have an idea!  We can ride on the sidewalk today so that I can stop and smell all the flowers.

Father:  Alright.  Let’s do it.

…..

Child:  Papa, we need beautiful flowers at our house.

Father:  That is your mother’s domain.  Ask her when you get home.

 

So, when they got home, the kid was chattering about flowers and needing to plant some in our yard.  I said, great – just you and me – let’s go on Wednesday to pick some out.

And we did just that.  I took him to the locally owned nursery.  He picked the wagon, he pulled the wagon, he picked out the type of  flowers and chose the actual plants.  Luckily, I had the foresight to set an agreed amount of plants BEFORE we entered because my kid apparently has expensive tastes; he was instantly enamored with the perennials – hyacinths, daffadils, Iberis, Woodland Phlox, and Corydalis.  Who can blame him?  The hyacinths do look and smell lovely.  But he stuck to his 6 pots without complaint.  We came home, he picked the spot he wanted them to go.  (Well, actually, he wanted them against the fence line in the back yard – I talked him into doing back and front yard, helping him split the plants in order to do so.)  He picked the planting arrangement.

Now I have these cute little plants in a corner of my overgrown yard that desperately needs work.  It isn’t what I would have chosen or how I would have laid them out; I’ll probably have to move the hyacinths after this season because they are sitting north of a small fence.  But the kid is sooo excited to check on them everyday.  And every spring I’ll be reminded of my 4-year-old who wanted to stop and smell/plant the flowers.

Have your small children helped shape your garden?

4 responses to “Garden Friday – A Child’s Flower Garden

  1. Betty Jo April 2, 2012 at 9:09 am

    When my girls were small, both had long hair, brushed out then put into braids each morning.

    The first time the 4 year old was helping me plant bedding plants, we dug the little hole, then
    I showed her how to tenderly loosen the root ball so the roots could spread out in their new home. She said “OH, It’s like brushing the tangles out of their hair!” Oh my. With her new
    comprehension and ever diligent nature, she was aiming for every miniature root completely free of any dirt. She figured since her saying “that’s good enough” didn’t work when I was brushing her hair, it surely wasn’t gonna work when I said it to her about the roots.

    With regard to “this is not a Mommy blog”, it’s been a long time since I had small kids, but I can report that this year’s 4 week old baby chicks have learned to climb the little ladder to the nesting boxes, and are, already, too fast to catch. I’m very proud of them, but glad the grandkids are coming next week. I can count on the kids to spend the hours needed to start taming that flock. I’m pretty sure about that, since we have a very large Cochin Rooster Katie chased, caught and petted so often last year, that he just stands to be picked up now. Even a rooster! I love it.

  2. mfranti April 2, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I love your stories, Betty Jo. I’m on your farm watching those little chicks move up the ladder.

    Thank you for sharing them with us.

  3. Nicole I April 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Betty Jo – what a sweet memory of your 4-year-old planting flowers! What kind of chicks did you get?

  4. Gardening and Plants April 6, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Gardening is one of life’s pleasures whether you grow flowers, vegetables or herbs; we look forward to the planting season. But whether you are new or seasoned gardener, it’s important to remember a few basic things.

Leave a Reply

